Instances and Mechanisms

Council: formed by a representative of each node, the Council is the body of the CeBEM Government. It defines policies for long-term and strategic decision-making. Each node may propose to the Council the replacement of its representative.

  • Alejandro Buschiazzo (Uru) Pasteur Institute of Montevideo (IPMontevideo) – Montevideo, Uruguay.
  • Rafael Radi (Uru) Biomedical Research Center (CEINBIO) , University of the Republic – Montevideo, Uruguay.
  • Richard Garratt & Glaucius Oliva (Bra) Center for Structural Molecular Biotechnology, Institute of Physics at São Carlos, (IFSC), São Paulo University – São Paulo, Brazil.
  • Jerson Lima Silva & Fabio Almeida (Bra) National Center for Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Jiri Jonas (CNRMN), Federal University of Rio de Janeiro – Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
  • Fernando Goldbaum (Arg) Leloir Institute Foundation (FIL) – Buenos Aires, Argentina.
  • Darío Estrin (Arg) School of Sciences, University of Buenos Aires (UBA, FCEyN) – Buenos Aires, Argentina.
  • Alejandro Vila (Arg) Institute of Molecular and Cellular Biology of Rosario, University of Rosario (IBR) Rosario, Argentina.
  • Kleber Franchini (Bra) National Laboratory of Biosciences (LNBio) – Campinas, Brazil.
  • Graciela Russomando (Par) Institute of Research in Health Sciences (IICS), National University of Asunción – Asunción, Paraguay.


Executive Committee: formed by three persons from CeBEM institutions, shall be designated by the Council. The Executive Committee is in charge of (1) analyzing and deciding on the relevance of the funding of specific CeBEM activities (courses, internships, travels, etc) and (2) keeping track of decisions, to be reported regularly to the Council. In case of internal discrepancies or particularly complex decisions, the Executive Committee shall consult with the Council. The Executive Committee will be renewed every 3 years, with each Member being able to be re-elected only once.

  • Fabio Almeida (Bra)
  • Darío Estrín (Arg)
  • Rafael Radi (Uru)

Scientific Advisory Board: the figure of a Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) is created to advise the Council on strategies and evaluate the performance of the CeBEM. The SAB will be created once it is considered to have achieved a critical mass of activities and/or shared equipment.

General Coordinator: elected by consensus, or failing that, simple majority, by the Council, for a period of three years. This figure must rotate between different nodes in subsequent periods. His functions include (1) representing the CeBEM in corresponding instances, (2) following the annual schedule of activities, in coordination with the Executive Committee, and (3) coordinating the general Secretary. In his absence, he shall appoint the Deputy Coordinator to replace him temporarily. The alternate coordinator may also replace him for negotiations or representation of the CeBEM in other countries.

  • Alejandro Buschiazzo (Uru)

General Secretary: function associated with the general coordinator, taking place in the same country and during his term of office. His/her functions are (1) receiving requests and reports of activities (courses, internships), taking them to the Executive Committee, and communicating them to stakeholders in the resolution, (2) maintaining the web site of the CeBEM, and (3) ensuring the dissemination of activities through the web site and an up-to-date mailing list.

Alternate Coordinators: a coordinator by country (appart from the general coordinator) is appointed, together with the general coordinator, by the Council. They are in charge of representing CeBEM before national or local authorities in each country, and ensuring the correct management, administration and accountability of national funds (with the support of local Secretaries).

  • Richard Garratt (Bra)
  • Darío Estrín (Arg)
  • Graciela Russomando (Par)